Education and Workforce: Scholarships

Annually the Cleveland Society for Human Resource Management awards up to two awards to attend the Fall 2014 Cleveland SHRM study group.

The CSHRM Student Scholarship is open to all current chapter members and students who are currently enrolled in a degree program and demonstrate their commitment to the HR field through academic performance, work/internship experience, and participation in the local, national, and/or student SHRM chapter. One (1) scholarship will be awarded in 2014 in the amount of $1,500. Requirements include: current undergraduate or graduate student on a full time or part time basis who is pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree with an emphasis in HR with an overall minimal GPA of 3.0.

Click here to download the student scholarship application

The CSHRM Arnetta J. Moore Scholarship

Arnetta J. Moore graduated from John F. Kennedy High School in 1970. Her favorite subject was English. She attended Ohio University for two years and then graduated from Notre Dame College of Ohio with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business. She started her career as a Secretary at Aetna Insurance Company. She then joined East Ohio Gas Company, starting as a Customer Service Representative, and held numerous positions within the company, including VP of Employment and Staffing and Human Resources. She was very active in Cleveland SHRM, holding the Board position of VP Education. She was also recognized as Outstanding Member of the Year in 2001. She was active in her church, volunteered as a church clerk, and later as a Bible Study Teacher. Arnetta married Allen J. Moore and had two sons, Demond and Daryl. She was born to Elester Singleton (deceased) and Dorothy Singleton. She had two brothers, Elester Jr. and Anthony Singleton, and a sister, Nichelle Singleton-Lacey.

Annually the Cleveland Society for Human Resource Management awards two individual $500 scholarships in memory of Arnetta J. Moore, SPHR.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Applicants must be an active member of the Cleveland Society for Human Resource Management as of June 1, 2014.
  • Applicants must be a current HR professional with at least two years of professional exempt experience.

Click here to download the Arnetta J. Moore Scholarship application 

Selection Process

Scholarship Candidates shall be solicited from membership of the Cleveland SHRM. The Cleveland SHRM Education Scholarship Committee will review all applications and choose the award recipients. The committee's decisions shall be final. The Arnetta J. Moore Memorial Certification Scholarship Award is limited to once in a lifetime.

  • Scholarship applications are available on or by contacting Shirley M. Hunter, VP of Education. Entries must include a completed application form and separate required documentation. (Please see the application for more details.)




Presentation of the Award

The scholarship will be notified by email no later than August 25th, 2014.      

Please contact Shirley Hunter, VP Education at
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or (216) 533-6772 if you have any questions.


Scholarship Winners
Arnetta J. Moore
Scholarship Winners
2013  Brandon Griffin, PHR  Megan Busovicki
2012 Anna Gibson Melissa Seitz
2011 Stephanie Sinko Jennifer Castro
    Stephanie Sinko 
2010 Shivani Singhai Libby Pike
    Glenda Torres
2009 Laural Wagner Rachel Garcowski
    Nikki Mangano
    Jody Wheaton
    Lin Zhuang
2008 Hortenzia (Tenzie) Szabo JoAnn Jacobson
    Omar Morales
    Laural Wagner
2007 Sean Robinson Erin Loschetter
    Joyce Newbacher
    Lauren Rudman